Get Matched, Find Low Rates on Auto Insurance and Mortgage LoanssmLooking for low mortgage rates? Start here »

Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC)

What is a Home Equity Line of Credit?

A Home Equity Line of Credit, or HELOC, uses your home equity as collateral. A HELOC offers a line of credit from which you can draw as needed, as opposed to a typical home equity loan which gives you the entire amount of the loan up front. You can pull money from your line of credit during a specified "draw period" (usually between 5 and 25 years), paying back only the money you use plus interest.

Get up to 5 FREE Quotes Now!

When this draw period ends, you repay the loan's principal either in one lump sum or according to a payment schedule. Since your home provides collateral for the loan, failure to honor a repayment agreement could result in foreclosure. Since the interest rate on a HELOC is tied to economic indexes such as the prime rate, it is variable and will change over the life of your loan.

Why Choose a HELOC?

A home equity line of credit is a popular choice for borrowers because they:

How to Get a HELOC

Getting a HELOC is similar to getting a first mortgage, but less rigorous and time-consuming. However, you shouldn't rush the research before signing on the dotted line. Consult with a variety of lenders to make sure you're getting the lowest rates you can, being sure to compare the annual percentage rate (APR), which tells you the cost of credit on a yearly basis. While shopping around, make sure you also compare other associated loan expenses such as points and closing costs.

Join Our Community

Get low Mortgage Rates for

Loan Type:
Credit Profile:
Home Type:
Subscribe to Our Newsletter

I agree to receive email newsletters and special offers targeted to my interests, sent by RateMarketplace. I represent and warrant that I have read and agreed to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

Find mortgage rate information by state:
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia
Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Mississippi
Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Mexico | Minnesota | Missouri | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York | North Carolina
North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee
Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming